Harry Potter Series Review

Hi guys, first of all I’d like to apologise for missing two posts this past week. On Sunday I was in London for JLS’ last ever concert and I was intending to write a post on the way home, but I was crying the whole way. I live about an hour and three quarter’s train journey from London. I was very upset. Still am. But let’s not get into that. I missed Wednesday’s post because it was Christmas Day and felt it would be very rude to disappear to my bedroom and start blogging. But I’m back today with a Harry Potter series review-the books of course, not the movies. So, let us begin…

I’ve reviewed this before in my little purple notebook, and I daresay I’ll review it again. However, I am as always honoured to witness Rowling’s beautiful work. There is something very like a coming home feeling about reading the first paragraph every time, and knowing that a wonderful journey lies ahead. Even now, reading it for the however many-th time, I loved the ride. There is no doubt in my mind that these books wholly deserve the classics status that will almost certainly be bestowed upon them in the future. For the first time, I noticed that the writing is clearly aimed at a slightly younger audience, but that did nothing to detract from the story. Harry is, as always, so realistic and relatable that he could step out of the pages along with every other character and not be out of place in reality. If you’ll pardon the pun, these novels are pure magic. (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)

There are only so many ways you can describe perfection, but this book and the series as a whole deserves all of them. What gets to me the most about the early Potter books (probably the first three) is that I physically smile at random points, it’s as though I actually cannot stop myself. In the later books, I cry more than I smile, although there are grins in there too. I don’t think anything else I have read demonstrates quite so well the fact that shadows can only and will always exist with light. Chamber of Secrets is a beautiful book, in spite of the subject. The fact that it’s so happy even with the subject matter makes what will happen in the later novels even harder to bear. The meticulous planning involved with creating the dread so subtly, through two books, that you only feel it in hindsight must have been monumental. (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets)

And so I am nearing the halfway point of the Harry Potter saga once more. For me, the appeal of this book, more so than the earlier two, is the way it truly becomes an escape. Don’t get me wrong, the other two offer a portal to a different world too, but it is in Prisoner of Azkaban that the delicate intricacies of the wizarding world, from the creatures within it to its judicial system, are really shown. I, of course, knew exactly what was going to happen, but there is something in the way Rowling writes that keeps you engaged anyway. The muggle world was also more involved that it had been in the Philosopher’s Stone and the Chamber of Secrets, which makes the parodies even funnier. J. K. Rowling on top form as always. (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban)

By far the darkest of the series up until this point, the minute details of Rowling’s storytelling will never cease to amaze me. The fact that the novel begins with more hope than ever before seems to throw the sadness of the ending into sharper relief. Perhaps I was too tired when reading it, but rather than evoking tears as Cedric’s death has done multiple times before, it just left me with a deep sense of sadness, equal to crying but expressed in a different way. Possibly due to the sheer length of the book, the characters are allowed to develop both the good and bad sides of their personalities. This shows just how deep Rowling has embedded the feeling that light cannot exist without darkness within her novels. Even the Veela, who are supposedly perfect women-like creatures, become evil and frankly repulsive when provoked. Not only does this make every character-with the possible exception of Voldemort and some do the Death Eaters (at least at this stage)-more relatable to the reader, it also conveys a message that perfection in appearance and temperament is unachievable. (Yes I uphold that Rowling’s work is perfect to me, but that is not to say it is devoid of flaws. I simply mean that I connect with the story in a way that I see as perfect.) This reinforces the common knowledge that Rowling is a great role model, especially to the younger audience at which her books are ultimately aimed. That is not to say that the novels don’t appeal to an older market too, though. Absolutely loved it! (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)

It is very hard to find words good enough to describe this book when the tears it caused have barely dried on my cheeks. There is something about the story, something about the plot and it’s horribly (and perfectly) accurate reflection of some of the very worst events in human history that just works. Judging by the numerous interviews I have watched in which Rowling recounts the time when she finally realised just how huge Potter was, I’m not sure she knows what that something is any more than I do. But I am as grateful as everybody else that it is there. In this novel, the detail of the characters deepens the message that no matter how famous, brave, loved, beautiful or whatever else someone is, they always have a dark side. They are not perfect. Harry’s not. Sirius wasn’t. James and Lily, though immortalised in Harry’s mind by the countless times he has been told how amazing they were, were not perfect. Sensitively told and heartbreakingly close to reality, Rowling has done it again. (Harry potter and the Order of the Pheonix)

Wow. As always, the sixth Potter book has left me speechless and covered in tears. It’s amazing how, every time, the numbness Harry feels directly after Dumbledore’s death extends to the reader. It’s not denial like he feels following his godfather’s demise-we both accept that Dumbledore’s dead immediately-and yet I don’t start crying until the funeral, the moment Harry begins to feel again too. I don’t have a clue how Rowling makes that connection between a character’s grief and the reader’s grief, but the results are unbelievable. The storyline of this one is so varied, encompassing cursed objects and dating dramas, torturing spells and quidditch, that it cannot help but keep you hooked. I don’t care how many times I read this book, I will always love it. (Harry Pitter and the Half-Blood Prince)

I think the fact that I stayed up until five o’clock in the morning to finish this book with tears streaming down my face, despite having read it however many times before, is the best review I can give. It is sensitively written and all the ends are neatly tied up, although there is the sense that it has been left open to a sequel, just in case. Well, I can dream, can’t I? I only wish that we found out what happened to Dudley, as it at the start of this book that we discover (at least in my eyes) that he has he potential to be a brother figure to Harry, if only he was given the chance. (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows)

In short, this series is wonderful. If you’ve never read it, I suggest you do so as soon as you’re given the chance.

One thought on “Harry Potter Series Review

Leave a Reply

